Catholic Service

I work in a medical facility and many of our patients cannot leave, so every Sunday we have a Eucharistic Minister from Our Lady of Good Council Catholic Church come in and lead a Catholic service. I sat in on a service a couple of weeks ago, and I learned a lot.

I never realized this before but part of the time when they are singing in that chant-like tone they are actually reading from the Bible. My problem with this is that it is difficult for me to pay attention.  When I hear song, unless I am reading the lyrics, vocals become just another instrument and the words have no meaning.  It’s this way with all music for me. I’ve sang songs along with the radio that I’ve loved, but when I actually think about or read the lyrics I realize that I don’t like it as much anymore.

The amount of worship was good, but again, for me, reciting the same things can quickly make them devoid of meaning. I am not big on tradition and ritual, which is weird seeing as I come from a Wiccan background that is strongly centered around ritual and tradition. Of course the one thing that always bothered me about books on Wicca is that they have very little information on the god and goddess but are filled with information on rituals and magick, so maybe it’s not that strange after all. Ritual and tradition, for me, is empty and meaningless unless you know God, have a relationship with God, and understand why you are performing those specific actions. Repetition forms habit, and habits are things you can do without even thinking about them. I feel that when we worship and pray we should give God our undivided attention, and the best way for me to do that is by “keeping it fresh” and not getting stuck in a habit.

I really don’t mean to imply that Catholics are wrong, or that they are they only denomination that has strict practices; I am simply stating that I have discovered that it is not the path for me at this point in my life. If the structure of it keeps you in God’s grace, then please don’t let me stop you from worshipping how you feel is right.

2 Comments

Filed under About Me, Church

2 responses to “Catholic Service

  1. vonnie

    I like how you are really focused on what it is right for you, and sharing you stories and experiences, without putting down other religions. That is how I know to take you seriously. Just like the article I sent you about the Blessed Virgin Mary, just look into why we are ritualistic and set in traditions. I am not trying to convert you, just helping you understand. I love you, and I am so glad you opened up your life this way! you need to find what is right for you, Katie, and the girls! God bless you!

  2. Thanks Vonnie and God bless you!
    The whole purpose of this blog is trying to understand and finding what is right for me. One of my fears is that someone will take it wrong and take offense. I don’t want to put doubt in anyone’s mind about the path they are on, because if I had taken a turn in my path before it was time I’m not sure I would be where I am now. But also in 1 Corinthians 8:12 (NLT) it says: “And when you sin against other believers by encouraging them to do something they believe is wrong, you are sinning against Christ.”
    So by discouraging someone from doing something they feel is right you are also sinning against Christ, right?

Leave a Reply

