Second To All!

I went to the website I Am Second last night. It’s a collection of video testimonials from celebrities and others people who have decided to “live for God and for others” I was really moved by many of these videos, and I think it’s a great resource. I had actually put off going to this site for some time because I didn’t care for the name and I still don’t care that much for it. I am great with putting God first, and I try my best to keep Him first, but putting yourself second seems to imply that you are putting yourself before others. Even though Christ said:

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye, when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.” Matthew 7:3-5 (NIV)

Removing the plank from our own eyes would appear to be putting ourselves before others, and to some extent that’s good advice. You wouldn’t run a marathon with a broken leg, even if it was for charity. But I’m an optimist, I like to think that once I accepted Christ into my life I removed the plank from my eye, so putting myself second is putting myself before my family. While I would prefer the slogan I Am Last, I understand the PR behind being #2. Putting you last leaves room for anyone before yourself, but putting yourself second leaves room for only God first.

To be honest, the site is great, the stories are inspiring and informative, and it is really helping me on my spiritual path. My issue with the semantics of the name isn’t really an issue at all, especially since in their “About” section they do state “…for God and for others”.

2 Comments

Filed under About Me

2 responses to “Second To All!

  1. I dig the quote, and I dig that you put it in red. 🙂

    I read that quote as, super-paraphrased, “You can’t help others with insignificant problems if you are fundamentally broken.” What do you think?

    • SB

      Thanks!
      Your super paraphrased quote is about how I see it. I think conflict with some arises in deciding who has said plank in their eye and who just has the spec of dust. Everyone likes to think of themselves as perfect.

Leave a Reply

