Did God Change Adam When He Created Eve?

Some time ago I posted a question on facebook, and I got a bunch of great responses… No one, however, actually answered the question I asked. I suppose that was a good thing, because it left me to figure it out for myself. The answer, or at least an answer that satisfies my curiosity came to me today while reading Job.

The question comes from Genesis 2:21-22:

(21)So the Lord God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep; and while he was sleeping, he took one of the man’s ribs and then closed up the place with flesh. (22)Then the Lord God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man. (NIV)

Whether you see this as literal or metaphorical it still poses the same question: Did God change His original creation of man by removing a part of him to make woman? If so does that make man an imperfect creation? What was mankind like before that?

My answer to this is kind of simple, and I ask another question: Do you think that God was “winging it” when He created the heavens and the earth or do you think he had a plan with what he was going to do the dark formless mass he had just brought into existence?

If you believe God had a plan, then Adam was not a complete creation until part of his side was removed to create woman. It was His intent from “The Beginning” to create 2 sexes.

We are incomplete on our own. Where I fail my wife strives and the opposite it true as well. We are complementary creations.

So God, while he changed his original creation of man, didn’t deviate in his blueprint of what he meant to do.

It may seem like a simple answer, but until today it hadn’t really occurred to me. In just as many ways as not growing up Church has helped me, it has also hindered me in understanding some basic questions. I know this one doesn’t really affect God’s love for me, but it was still one of those things I kept coming back to.

Please note this is NOT a commentary on homosexuality, it is merely what rings true in my life and many others.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible Study

Leave a Reply

