Joel Osteen My Final Thoughts.

If you read my history you know how Joel Osteen helped to water the seed that was planted in me. I havent listened to him in some time, my spiritual journey has led me on to more solid foods and he just wasn’t meeting the gospel needs that I had. People like Joel Osteen are good for bringing people in, but they offered a watered down version of Christianity, which in the long run isn’t good at all. I’m not saying God can’t use people like him, because if it hadn’t been for him I would have never read the Bible, which led me to realize how askew and pluralistic some of his theology is. See his Larry King interview if you don’t know what I mean.

The problem is not everyone is the same as me. Some are going to listen to him over the Spirit and read his books over the Bible. People are going to believe if they have faith then no bad thing will happen to them. So when bad things do happen, and they will, they may think that they don’t have enough faith… Which is probably true if the only scripture they read are Joel’s books.

Brothers and sisters, I could not address you as people who live by the Spirit but as people who are still worldly—mere infants in Christ. I gave you milk, not solid food, for you were not yet ready for it. Indeed, you are still not ready.                              -I Corinthians 3:1-2(NIV)

Now, I’m not bashing Joel here. He is doing good things and as a fellow believer we ought to love him all the more, but if you are stuck on milk when you could be moving on to more solid foods I urge you to attend and serve in a physical church, to read the Bible, to fully give your life over to Christ.

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me

Leave a Reply

