Devotion Day #3 – Mt 5:5

9.19.14 5:30 am- In bed & 6am- family room chair.

Gracious Father in Heaven, Thank you for putting air in my lungs this morning that I may sing your praises to all who will listen!

Matthew 5:5

 

  • Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth. (NIV)
  • God blesses those who are humble, for they will inherit the whole earth.(NLT)
  • Blessed are the gentle, for they shall inherit the earth.(NASB)

 

By now I have grasped that what seems like a negative quality is actually a positive one. To be meek is usually conveyed in a negative light meaning weak and submissive, and for a man this definition of the word is usually an undesired quality. The other translations of Matthew use a different word than meek when translating the greek word praeis. It can be translated as gentle, mild, or humble. The root of the word does not mean weakness, it actually refers to exercising God’s strength under His control – i.e. demonstrating power without undue harshness[1].

Un-Beatitude

 

  • Wretched are the self-centered, for they will be empty.

 

To be meek, as demonstrated, is to be humble. This Beatitude fits quite well in relation the the previous two, especially the first. To be “poor in spirit”(Mt. 5:3) is to understand that I am not and never will be sufficient on my own. To be meek in relation to being poor in spirit, is to accept the gift God has given me in Jesus, and through Him I will inherit a new heaven and a new earth(Rev 21:1).

As an evangelical and someone who believes in the urgency and necessity of the Great Commission, I sometimes forget that it is not my job to change someones heart, that is the work of the Spirit. It is my job to love everyone. In presenting the Truth all I can hope for is to plant or water seeds, maybe to pull out a weed or two. Ultimately it is God who is going to make that seed sprout and grow. What is needed from me is to trust in and submit to God, and let His will be done in His way, not mine.
Lord, thank you for reaching out to me when I was lost. I pray that I can suppress my self-centeredness and let your will be done all around me. That when someone comes to me with an objection, it is your  words that come through me, and that if they don’t want to reason I can let the argument go without indignation and trust in your sovereign will. In Jesus’ name, AMEN!

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible Study, Devotion

Leave a Reply

