Devotional – Mt 5:23-24

Matthew 5:23-24

  • Therefore, if you are offering your gift at the altar and there remember that your brother or sister has something against you, leave your gift there in front of the altar. First go and be reconciled to them; then come and offer your gift.

There are a couple of things that stand out to me in this passage. The biggest is something I have never really paid attention to. In the way this is worded, Jesus says that if you remember that someone has something against you, you should go and reconcile with them.I can bear no grudge against someone, but if they are holding one against me, then I should be a peacemaker. I need to go to them and try to make things right. This doesn’t mean giving in to the Truth, or going against Biblical authority in order to appease someone, but rather in never giving up actively loving them.

A few people come to mind, one of them I mentioned yesterday. I have forgiven her, but I have never apologized for the mistakes I made. I still have the ability to contact her. I think I will write her a letter.

The other was a good friend when I was in college, I’m not sure if he holds anything against me, but when I was young in apologetics I wrote a Facebook post that many of my unbelieving friends didn’t like, and he unfriended me. When I asked him why he stated something about clutter in his news feed. I tried to make peace then and wished him well, but perhaps it is time for an email to check up on him.

God, I want to thank you for challenging me. You brought two people to mind who may have something against me. If there is anyone else I trust in you to illuminate me. I pray that you give me the words to reach them. In Jesus’ name, AMEN!

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotion

Leave a Reply

