Devotion Mt 5:25-26

Matthew 5:25-26

  • Settle matters quickly with your adversary who is taking you to court. Do it while you are still together on the way, or your adversary may hand you over to the judge, and the judge may hand you over to the officer, and you may be thrown into prison. Truly I tell you, you will not get out until you have paid the last penny.

Outside of traffic court I have never been involved in any legal troubles requiring me to go to court.  I can understand the necessity to settle matters quickly before they escalate out of our control. But what this verse gets me thinking about is life, or perhaps I should say death. When I die I will face God, I will face the judge in his courtroom, and as a sinner I will be held accountable for my crimes. If I don’t settle matters quickly before I go to court, before I die, I may be thrown into prison until the last penny is paid. If the punishment of sin is death, then the last penny will be permanent death.

There is an urgency in accepting Christ. We are all on our way to court, and we are all guilty. But God has given us a way out. A way not just to cover our sins, but to erase them, and that is through Jesus! He paid the price for our sin, through his sacrifice we are free from our sin, and free to live eternally in fellowship with God.

If I die tomorrow, which is very possible, I know I am saved. But if my friends die tomorrow, how many of them will be saved? I know the truth of the gospel, but I don’t always share it, because I’m afraid to. I have written before about how I want to be liked by people, but perhaps being silent when someone is in danger isn’t the best way to be liked.

 

Father, Thank you for giving me the time to reflect on the gospel message.  I pray you give me courage to speak up when it is required. AMEN!

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotion

Leave a Reply

