Devotion Mt 5:29-30

There are things in my life that act as triggers to sin. As an alcoholic should stay away from bars, there are many areas I need to stay away from. Areas that when I enter, I am tempted to sin. Jesus says I should cut off those things which cause me to stumble. To stay away from those situations.

Matthew 5:29-30

  • If your right eye causes you to stumble, gouge it out and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one part of your body than for your whole body to be thrown into hell.  And if your right hand causes you to stumble,cut it off and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one part of your body than for your whole body to go into hell.

What happens when one of those things is something I have built your identity on? The act of cutting away is not as easy. When I cut it out it really does feel like you are loosing a part of myself. When I had to stop watching horror movies due to how it made me act and feel, I didn’t feel like myself. I didn’t know who I was. I was always FIRST a horror fan. But that loss was only temporary, because I put God in place of it. When you build your identity on something outside of God not only is that idolatry, but when the thing that is only finite crumbles to dust you are left with nothing. When I cut out sinful areas in my life, God opened up a new foundation onto which to build my identity.

Now when this is applied to relationships, I feel it that it is not the person who should be cut out of my life, but how I interact with them. We might need to take some time apart, some time to grow, but I don’t think it is Biblical to write them out of my life. I can’t be light to someone who I put under a bowl. I cannot be a peacemaker to whom I have no contact.

 

Father, thank you for your support. Thank you for showing me a better way, and daily changing my course to match your will. I ask that you help me in examining my life, to illuminate areas which cause me to sin, and assist me in removing them. In Jesus’ name, AMEN!

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotion

Leave a Reply

