Devotion – Mt 5:31-32

Matthew 5:31-21

  • It has been said, ‘Anyone who divorces his wife must give her a certificate of divorce.’ But I tell you that anyone who divorces his wife, except for sexual immorality, makes her the victim of adultery, and anyone who marries a divorced woman commits adultery.

I grew up with divorce, I think I was in preschool or kindergarten when my parents divorced. My dad remarried and divorced two more times by the time I was in college, and recently ended a long standing committed marriage-like relationship that ended with the same heartache as a divorce. My personal observations have led me to see divorce for the soul ripping event that it is. One of my personal goals, before I was married and before I came to Christ was to never get divorced. The idea was noble, but it wasn’t grounded in anything but my own desire. I really didn’t know what marriage was. The ease and popularity of divorce obscured the Biblical definition of marriage, and we as fallen and broken beings distorted it into our own culturally relative creation. We began to believe the lies about marriage, and began using it to support political agendas. Christ’s love of the church is the model for marriage (Ephesians 5:22-33), but when we distort the image of marriage we distort the image of the church.

Marriage was a  lasting covenant between God and us, but once the standard and qualifications of marriage were lowered, marriage became nothing more than a temporary agreement. The phrase “till death to you part” was replaced with “as long as your love shall last”.  But do we really know what love is? If love doesn’t last can we really call it love? 1 Corinthians 13 tells us that love never fails. That love always protects, trusts, hopes, and perseveres.  Divorce is the opposite of love.

When my wife and I came to Christ we were in rough shape, but through Christ’s model of love, and reading about God’s intent and view of marriage we were strengthened. We may not have a perfect marriage yet, but it is strong and getting stronger every day. It’s roots are grounded in God’s unchanging word.

 

Gracious Father, thank you for the marriage I have. Thank you for your guidance in understanding the nature and value of marriage. I pray that we continue to grow and model a Christ loving Biblical marriage to shine light for those who need it. Amen!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotion

Leave a Reply

