Devotion – Mt 5:33-37

Matthew 5:33-37

  • Again, you have heard that it was said to the people long ago, ‘Do not break your oath, but fulfill to the Lord the vows you have made.’ But I tell you, do not swear an oath at all: either by heaven, for it is God’s throne; or by the earth, for it is his footstool; or by Jerusalem, for it is the city of the Great King. And do not swear by your head, for you cannot make even one hair white or black. All you need to say is simply ‘Yes’ or ‘No’; anything beyond this comes from the evil one.

At first glance I didn’t really think this would be applicable to someone in our culture. I don’t swear oaths. Or do I? When I’m relating a story that sounds fictitious I add “seriously” or “I swear”, when I say I will do something I add “I promise”. But why? I am a bit of a practical joker, so some people do not know if I am telling the truth or setting up a punchline. It actually drives me crazy when I am being honest and someone won’t believe me. But I have no one to blame but myself. Even if it is a joke, and I let the person in on it at the end, it was still a lie at the other person’s expense.

I need to stop for a minute. This is not where I was planning on going with this journal entry. It appears that the Spirit led me to an area I need to think about more. I think jokes are fun, but there are some jokes that go too far. There are times when I have pushed the envelope. There are times when I have gone way too far, to the point where it almost got me fired from a job. That experience settled me down for awhile, but I got comfortable again. Thinking about some of the tricks I have played on people, the type of humor involved is almost always at their expense. It is no wonder people won’t take me seriously. It is no wonder people question my authenticity. My yes’ and no’s aren’t always true.

All you need to say is simply ‘Yes’ or ‘No’; anything beyond this comes from the evil one.

 

Lord, thank you for this devotion. Thank you for uncovering a major character flaw. I pray that you can help me to change it. In Jesus’ name, AMEN!

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotion

Leave a Reply

